Introductions — say Hi!

Hey, all!

My name is Beto. I’ve been making music since 2014, and I have a one-person band called The Fishermen & the Priestess. I first heard about Jamuary in 2016 when Cuckoo posted on his Facebook page, and I was able to complete it successfully for the first time in 2021.

For my songs I usually play the guitar together with the OP-Z. I like making ambient downtempo, but I also do a lot of weird experimental music. I love using cassette tapes, and some of my favorite songs were 4-track cassette collaborations done by mailing the tape from person to person across the US.

4 Likes

Hi. I’ve been making music most of my life – violin and jazz piano in school in the 80s, jamming with synths and computers in the late 80s-90s, getting more serious with VST plugins in the 2000s, performing with St. Louis Osuwa Taiko in 2010-2012, and getting into Eurorack in 2016. More recently I’ve started playing bass guitar, integrating it with my hybrid hardware/software setup.

In addition to some older projects, I’ve released several albums on Bandcamp since 2018, in the general category of improvised dark ambient / drone.

This will be my first Jamuary, but I’ve previously participated in NaSoAlMo and FAWM a couple of times (and completed a double-length NaSoAlMo once). I also intended to release one track per week in 2016 but it wound up being 120 tracks, and another 261 in 2017.

5 Likes

Hi!

I’m an amateur living in Seattle, an adult with ADHD, and find that creative challenges like this are practically mandatory for me to actually complete musical works.

I participated in FAWM in 2011 and completed 14 songs for voice and ukulele. One person who saw these videos ended up performing one of my songs at a folk club in Manchester. I’ve signed up for FAWM and similar monthly challenges in several subsequent years but never managed to get anywhere with these.